European Space Agency (ESA)

The European Space Agency (ESA) is an international organisation dedicated to space-related research and exploration. ESA was established in 1975 and currently has 22 member states[1].

The ESA administrative headquarters are in Paris, France. The agency operates many facilities and programs spread throughout Europe, as well as the Guiana Space Centre in French Guiana.


ESA is involved in a wide variety of space-related work, from robotic Earth science missions to human spaceflight. The agency's focus leans more towards uncrewed flights (i.e. robotic space probes and satellites), with the human element achieved mostly through participation in the International Space Station.

ESA assists with and provides funds for spacecraft development, notably the Ariane 5 (operated by Arianespace) and the Orion Spacecraft service module that will fly on NASA's Space Launch System (SLS).

ESA Mission Control
ESA Mission Control it Darmstadt, Germany
ESA logo

Related Feeds

External Links

Footnotes & References

1. (retrieved 2021-10-26)
Home  |  About  |  Privacy
Social Media Buttons Facebook Youtube Twitter Instagram