Indian Space Research Organisation

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) is the national space agency of India. It was established in 1962 as the Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR), becoming ISRO in 1969. It is operated by the Indian Department of Space (DOS).

The two primary Indian launch sites are Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC/SHAR) and Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS). A third site has been proposed at Kulasekharapatnam.

ISRO has extensive remote-sensing assets in Earth orbit, and also operates the satellite navigation systems GAGAN and NAVIC.

ISRO has sent robotic missions to the Moon and Mars.



Related Feeds

External Links
Home  |  About  |  Privacy
Social Media Buttons Facebook Youtube Twitter Instagram